The AGRA Voice!

Alabama Education Retirees Association, Inc...." The Voice for Alabama's Education Retirees"

Volume 39, Number 2

★ Circulation Over 22,000 ★

Summer 2019

Business and Pleasure Mix at the 2019 Annual Meeting/Luncheon By Jill Jackson, AERA Executive Director

The AERA Annual Meeting was held at the Pelham Civic Complex in Pelham on May 7, 2019. Attendance set a record high at over 700 members present! AERA thanks each of you who made the trip to Pelham.

At the beginning of the Business Meeting, AERA Secretary Grace Wood, announced that a majority of the total eligible delegates were in attendance with 401 delegates present. A quorum for the Business Meeting was established. Next, the meeting was called to order by AERA President Teresa Noell. The invocation and pledge were led by Tellis Hill from Pike County. Bridgett Junkin, from St. Clair County, graced members with a beautiful acapella rendition of the National Anthem.

The guest speaker for the Business Meeting was Alfred Campos, National Director of the National Retired Teachers Association (NRTA): AARP's Educator Community. He delivered an informative message on national issues concerning defined benefit pension plans and the national fight against the high cost of prescription drugs. Mr. Campos spoke of the advocacy that NRTA provides in support of defined benefit plans made available to public employees including those in the public education



Outgoing AERA President Teresa Noell addresses attendees at AERA's Annual Meeting held at the Pelham Civic Complex in Pelham on May 7, 2019.

sector. He stated that, "defined benefit plans are important in the recruitment and retention of the best employees." He also spoke on the need to oppose the high cost of prescription drugs and the advocacy that AARP/NRTA is employing to fight increasing drug prices at the Congressional level. "The high cost of prescription drugs is a top concern for the 50+voters," Mr. Campos noted.

After the guest speaker, Icie Wriley, from Lamar County,

offered a touching Moments of Remembrance ceremony in memory of deceased members who had passed in the last year. The Unit of Excellence Awards followed and were highlighted by AERA Executive Director Jill Jackson. District Directors: Herbert White (D8), Larry Stewart (D2), and Katie Walton (D5), assisted in the presentation of the awards. (See page 8 for more information about the Unit of Excellence winners.)

Mrs. Jill Jackson then introduced Community Service Committee Chair Dr. Carroll Hughes, from Marion County, to announce the community service award winners for 2019. Cleophus Stephens, AERA Treasurer/Community Service Liaison, and Wayne Boswell, AERA Community Service Committee Vice Chair from Butler County, assisted in these presentations. (See pages 9 and 10 for detailed information about the Community Service winners and the number of community service hours our members reported last year!)

President Noell conducted the business portion of the meeting, which included a delegate debate and vote of business on item Article VIII, Section 4 of the AERA Constitution. The current reading of the article states, "Any

(See Annual Meeting, page 6)

SEE ANNUAL DISTRICT MEETINGS SCHEDULE ON PAGE 5.