Jill E. Jackson
Executive Director

A resident of Prattville, Mrs. Jackson has a varied background whose experience will assist be an asset in this position. Currently, Mrs. Jackson is a certified Career Technical Education teacher at Wetumpka High School. Prior to completing her alternative teaching certificate, Mrs. Jackson was a Special Education Paraprofessional at Prattville Junior High School. Before entering the public education arena, Mrs. Jackson and her husband, Bryan, ran their own business, Jackson Solutions LLC. She handled the books, contracts, and is a licensed contractor.

As an active AEA member, Mrs. Jackson has attended the Emerging AEA Leadership School and Roundtable Legislative Contact meetings, Growth Membership Forum with past AEA President Sheila Hocutt Reminington,and served on the Professional Rights and Responsibilities Committee. As a member of the Elmore Education Association, she was chosen as a delegate to the AEA Delegate Assembly.

Mrs. Jackson’s educational accomplishments include an Alternative Teaching Certificate from Jacksonville State University and Athens State University. She is currently working on a Masters of Law degree at Regent University, which she will complete in the summer of 2018. Mrs. Jackson is the mother of three daughters ranging in ages from 10 to 18 years old. Juggling a family and a full-time job carries a lot of responsibilities and teaches excellent time management skills.

E-mail: jjackson@aerainc.org

Keron Forte
Assistant Executive Director

keron forteAs Assistant to the Executive Director, I assist in the daily tasks associated with running the state association on a daily basis, including: attending state meetings, serving as an advocate with the state legislature, performing public relations duties, attending board meetings, and visiting with local units as needed. My main responsibility is serving as editor of our bimonthly newspaper, The AERA Voice! I handle layout, design, and edit the publication, which is mailed to all members. During the annual legislative session, I also serve as a lobbyist working to protect all education retirees’ benefits. I have been with AERA since 2001 and I am honored to work with the Board of Directors and members.

E:mail: kforte@aerainc.org

Veronica Dewees
Administrative Assistant/Local Unit Liason

Veronica DeweesAs Secretary, I am the phone voice of the association. Sometimes I feel like a participant in the television commercial where the caller can’t believe they are talking to a ‘real’ person.  AERA recognizes your importance and assists members promptly. The only time a member is put on hold is to transfer your call to the appropriate person or while getting the information you requested.  Other secretarial duties involve Annual Meeting registration and delegate certification. Also, June to October I spend a lot of time preparing the local unit letters – approximately 64,000 of them. Other duties of this position involve preparations for Board or Committee Meeting and most correspondence sent from the Association. Never a dull moment at AERA! I am honored to work with AERA members, the Board of Directors, and terrific staff.

E-mail: vdewees@aerainc.org

Charlotte Wilson
Area Coordinator

charlotte-wilsonCharlotte Wilson is the Area Coordinator for the western half of the northern one-third of the state. She is from Jefferson County and in her spare time trains therapy dogs. She also has several dogs certified for therapy. Her duties include visiting local units in her area and recruiting state members. She also visits schools and Teachers Retirement System Retirement Prep Seminars in her area to introduce AERA to teachers planning to retire and helping them to transfer their active AEA membership to retired status. The counties in her area include:

Colbert, Cullman, Franklin, Jefferson, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Marion, Morgan, Shelby, Walker and Winston.

Charlotte’s email address is charlottewilsonaera@gmail.com

Marian Wood
Area Coordinator – Area I

mwoodMarian Wood is the Area Coordinator for the eastern northern one-third of the state.  She is the liaison between local units and the AERA state office.  Her duties include visiting local units in her area and recruiting state members.  She also visits schools in her area to introduce AERA to teachers planning to retire and helping them to transfer their active AEA membership to retired status.  The counties in her area include:

Blount, Calhoun, Cherokee, Cleburne, DeKalb, Etowah, Jackson, Madison, Marshall, St. Clair, and Talladega

Marian’s email address is woodmb@otelco.net

Pauline George
Area Coordinator – Area II East

pauline-georgeThe new Area II East Coordinator is Pauline George from Montgomery County. Mrs. George served as a local unit president while active and has also experience recruiting for AEA. She will bring a wealth of experience to all of Districts 5 and 7.  The counties Mrs. George will service include the following:

Barbour, Bullock, Chambers, Coosa, Clay, Elmore, Lee, Macon, Montgomery, Randolph, Russell, and Tallapoosa Counties.

Mrs. George, who was elected as AERA District 7 Director, resigned her position at the April 2013 AERA Board of Directors meeting as she cannot be employed by AERA and hold a position on the board.

Email: pwgeorge71@gmail.com

James Shannon
Area Coordinator – Area II West

jim-shannonThe new Area 2 West Coordinator is James Shannon from Chilton County. Mr. Shannon has been involved with AERA long before his retirement as his mother, Nancy Shannon, serves as president of Chilton County REA. He has a wide range of experience in public education and has done recruiting for AEA. Mr. Shannon will service the following counties in Districts 3 and 5:

Autauga, Bibb, Butler, Chilton, Fayette, Greene, Hale, Lamar, Lowndes, Perry, Pickens, Sumter, and Tuscaloosa Counties.

Email: jimshannonaera@gmail.com

Peggy Mobley
Area Coordinator – Area III East

peggy-mobleyPeggy Mobley is the new Area III East Coordinator from Covington County and serves counties in the southeast part of the state. Peggy has been an active member while working and now in retirement. She currently serves as vice president of the Covington County Retired Teachers.  Peggy was a two term president of AEA and served over twenty years on the AEA Board of Directors.  Peggy understands the importance of joining and working together to protect current and future retirees’ benefits. In her spare time, Peggy enjoys spending time with her grandchildren.  Ms. Mobley will service the following counties in Districts 8 and 9:

Coffee, Conecuh, Covington, Crenshaw, Dale, Escambia, Geneva, Henry, Houston, and Pike Counties.

John Paul Jones
Area Coordinator – Area III West

john-paul-2011John Paul Jones serves as Area III West Coordinator from Mobile County and serves counties in the southwest part of Alabama.  Before joining the staff, John Paul served as President of AERA. He brings that experience along with many years of active service with AEA along with membership and leadership roles in this local unit. John Paul enjoys performing local theatre productions and Mardi Gras celebrations.  Mr. Jones will service the following counties in Districts 6 and 8:

Baldwin, Choctaw, Clarke, Dallas, Marengo, Mobile, Monroe, Washington, and Wilcox Counties.